Step 1: Define Passion

I just finished reading a great book called Crush It by Gary Vaynerchuck (review to follow). He first suggested that I needed define my passion when entering the world of blogging and personal branding. Since I am a virgin in the business of me I figured I would tell you a little bit about why I am so passionate about your finances.

As you can read in My Story page, I grew up in a pretty normal lifestyle. It wasn’t until I got out of my family shell that I really started to see the world. After college I was the regular bachelor. I spent mass amounts of money on my own selfish desires, which made it harder to be married but that is another story :).

It wasn’t until I agreed to only allow Death Do Us Part did I realize that life is hard. I used to check the online bank account daily wondering when more money was going to be debited (a hyper link is  included if you don’t know what that means). Sweat beads would drip from my brow every time Target would appear on my statement.

It was then I realized that something had to be done. Back then I forced my wife to go to Financial Peace University with me. It was until recently that she (and our counselor :)) informed me that forcing her to do anything was not a good idea. It was during FPU that I began to open my eyes. I started to realize that financial strains not only affected decisions to go to Chili’s or Mickey D’s. People were hurting. Relationships were strained. The divorce rate is above 50% and one main reason is money problems.

It was through my own financial birth that I discovered that people need direction. So in a sense my heart is broken for you. God has burdened me with an unquenchable thirst to help the financially lost and misguided. Bill Hybels calls it a Holy Discontent.

So consider this a rebirth for this blog. I have a new direction and will be unveiling it soon. It’s going to be sleek and it’s going to be sexy but most importantly it will rock your world.

Share

2 Responses to “Step 1: Define Passion”

  1. Clint Says:

    Sleek, Sexy, and something to rock my world…. I can’t wait!

    Seriously though, I’m really looking forward to see what you have in store for us. I know the burden you feel. Despite working on the last step of Baby Step 2, I provide guidance to my troops and other airmen on my base and am a financial mentor for airmen in financial trouble. I’ve seen more than a few airmen completely change their lives around and are now loving life because they no longer have the heavy burden of being in over their head with debt. Unfortunately, I’ve also seen some good friends who continue in their “graveyard spiral” of debt… and I cannot help them until they are ready to be helped.

    A graveyard spiral is an aviation term that can be related to many other things around us. Read here to get a thorough definition of a graveyard spiral: http://www.aero.ca/e_graveyard_spiral.html

    • Chad Arnold Says:

      That is an excellent example. All too often we let the world set the status quo. We see daily how badly that plays out. I appreciate your wisdom and input. Your constant commenting is much appreciated.


Leave a Reply

